BLOGGER TEMPLATES AND TWITTER BACKGROUNDS

Wednesday, April 28, 2010

Gender day!

I am sooooo excited for tomorrow! At 7:30am (yes it is very early) I have my appointment at St. Marks to find out our baby's gender! Yay! Did I mention I'm really excited? In honor of the occasion I finally made myself get around to taking a pic of my belly! It's not the greatest quality and because of that it does not show the definition of how big my belly is, but you can tell I am pregnant and that is the point!

Here it is!


Can't wait for tomorrow!

Thursday, April 22, 2010

Ugh...

Not very happy with things right this second... What do I want? I don't want to work anymore. But I like it at the same time. That's the main thing.

Pros of working: make money, get out of the house, serve others, connect with other people a little (which is kinda huge when I don't get to do anything with anyone but my family much), exercise, something to make me have a schedule.

Cons of working: get hungry and can't eat, makes me tired more than I can handle with my life sometimes, can't take care of my house as much as I want and no one else will step up and do it, my work clothes are starting to get too small, I have to pay almost $50 to get some dumb permits pretty soon, I have no time to get out of my house for fun with out falling behind in important areas of my life, makes me have to rely on others just to be disappointed.

Well, I guess my cons list looks a bit longer... but it's also just more wordy. Do I need the money? I don't know! I'm so lost with our finances lately (mostly because I'm so forgetful and just cannot wrap my mind around the numbers, good or bad). Wayne said we still needed me to work because he didn't have a job, but now he "kinda" has one. It's not a set schedule kind of thing but he gets to work. I want to quit so bad sometimes, but I don't want to at the same time. I like being able to have that job and the benefits of it sometimes, but when I get home and see how daily my house gets slightly worse and worse it makes me just want to quit so I can have the energy to clean it more and keep things organized. If I could count on the people I lived with to do that a bit more it wouldn't be so bad, but I don't feel I can rely on them. I've tried, but unless I spell out every little detail (and even then it doesn't always happen) things just don't get done how they should. Is it too much to ask people to put things away properly instead of just throwing them near the place they belong, or to clean up after themselves more, or to help just to be nice instead of being forced, or to pick up after themselves? It drives me crazy. It's a constant battle. At least the big things have become more of a habit to at least get the important parts for living done, but what about cleanliness and sanitization? What about making it so I feel I could bring friends, or even more important later this year-clients, into my home without having to clean it first. I just want it to stay clean. It's understandable for certain things, but how hard is it to pick up after yourself or turn off the light when you leave a room?

Oh well, I guess I just better accept that it's not going to happen the way I want. I guess I should just keep doing what I'm doing and try to find the positive side of things. I just don't really want to have to try that hard. I just feel kinda hopeless with a lot of things. I want some time to rest and be lazy without feeling my world crashes down because I'm not taking care of everyone. But I guess that is just life for you. Get used to it Jessica.

Friday, April 16, 2010

Job-less-ness

I feel so bad for Wayne right now. He is one of the most hard working, dedicated, sweet guys I have ever known but he cannot seem to get a job. Everybody always seems to love him, but not enough to work with his schedule of being a student, scout master, and faithful latter-day saint. He has been trying to get a job since he got back from basic training last Sept. and has put in a million applications, gone through tons of interviews, and still nothing. There was one temporary job that lasted a few weeks and another that lasted a day, but nothing to count on as income. Thank goodness he has the army so we can have some money, but as soon as school is out so will be most of that money. I got a job at Applebees, but it's getting harder and harder to work there (I am pregnant you know...) so that has helped a little. We do have jobs lined up for June and July at the Webelos Wilderness scout camp this summer so that will help a lot, but again they are temporary...

What do we do? I guess all we can do is what we have been doing. We just have to keep paying tithing, obeying the Lord, and have faith. Money is one trial I would rather not have to deal with since we have a baby on the way. I just have got to remember how blessed we are. Even if Wayne cannot seem to get a job going we can still make it, it will just be VERY tight. But we do have a few items that we can probably sell if it gets THAT bad, which I don't think it will even at our worst since we will have the Army money again when school starts. So basically we just have to save up to make it through May and August and we'll be ok. Hopefully something more works out though, we would like to be able to get a savings going again since we ended up having to use it already sadly.

Wayne even at this moment is trying to get a job. He's at Walmart trying his best to make them work with him. See, he's technically still employed there from when he worked at the one in Wyoming before he left for basic. He tried to get a transfer down he when he got home but THEY were being dumb and not doing things like they should. He's tried so many times and we even drove up to Wyoming a couple of times so that he could do what they needed him to up there so that they could send the transfer request, but every time they have not come through with their part. Eventually, Wayne got sick of dealing with them, and he hates working there since they are so corporate anyway, so he decided to try his efforts everywhere else. But now he has really gone about everywhere else (including fast food) that he can and still nothing, so back to Walmart he's gone again. I just wish the Cheesecake Factory would not have told him "no" tonight after he had gone through two interviews... :(

So...
IF ANYONE KNOWS OF A JOB THAT STARTS AT 4PM OR LATER EXCEPT SUNDAYS AND WEDNESDAYS, PLEASE TELL ME! It does not matter what it is as long as it's a job that will be temporary starting now or preferably something lasting. Thank you!

Thursday, April 15, 2010

Sick of Being SICK

My family is lot aloud to get sick anymore! I am around them sooo much that every time they get sick I come down with it too. Without being sick I sleep enough as it is, being pregnant as the reason, but as soon as I come down with one of these bad illnesses (such as now) I am in bed for what seems like FOREVER and that's not good because I want to spend my forever feeling great...at least there's that "and Ever" part that Wayne and I like to say.

So now I am going to have to do the most horrible thing and stay in bed all day...hoping to be better for my frisbee golf date with Wayne tonight...and get a ton of school reading done. Isn't that just awful? ;) It wouldn't be so bad if Wayne were not at school because then he could cuddle me and do HW next to me, but now I actually will be able to concentrate without distraction! Who wants that!?! ...It really shouldn't be too bad, except for the feeling horrible part and not having the energy to get up to make food for the always hungry in my belly baby.

Anyway...I just had the thought of posting a pic on here (because that seems what should be in a blog) of me looking horrible right now, but that would be very scary! Trust me, not something you want to see... But thanks for reading, even though I was just complaining and being weird, haha. I hope you are not sick! And if you are chat with me and I won't feel so bored, lol!

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Wayne

I love my husband! He feeds me brownies that he baked and plays so cute with our niece. She adores him! I can't wait for him to get the chance to be a father to our baby this fall :) LOVE! <3

Monday, April 12, 2010

Cooking Adventure

It is my turn to make dinner tonight and I have no idea what to make. I want something yummy that will be done in about an hour to an hour and a half. I defrosted some chicken from the freezer the other day so I think I will use that now that it is soft enough to use. I don't want to use a recipe or go to the store for ingredients so as I am cooking I will let you know what I find. In the end I hope it tastes good! The adventure starts at 4:33pm April 12, 2010. Go!

1. A can of frozen OJ that I also defrosted. I forgot to make it so it will be made now, but not as an ingredient, lol.

2. Potatoes. Red and russet. good for either mashed (butter, milk, and spices=red) or backed (we do have butter, sour cream, and even frozen bacon).

3. Asparagus. I have never made fresh asparagus before, or even any sort of asparagus... I'm not sure if Wayne was planning on using it but it sounds nice with chicken and potatoes. ...I may have to cheat and find a good sauce recipe for it though...and maybe instructions on how to cook it properly...I don't want to kill anyone!

4. Sydnie, my niece. OK, we can't really eat her, but she is a darn cute baby! I think she will go nicely with dinner ;)

5. Fresh made white bread. Wayne decided he wanted to bake bread in Sarah's bread machine today. It's finally done (3hrs later), and smells really good...I'm just worried how it turned out. Well, he just got home, took it out, and is dropping it like a rock, haha!  But the inside is nice and really soft! Yay! ...ooh! Yummy!

6. Hollandaise sauce. Ok, I don't really have that on hand, but I do have the ingredients (butter, egg yolk, and lemon juice) to make it according to our loverly cookbook by Julia Child! Wayne says he thinks that would taste really good on steamed asparagus. I love having a husband who is such a good cook!

7. Mastering the Art of French Cooking. I changed my mind...I might get some tips from this wonderful cookbook :) ...and yes, how to cook my asparagus in a delicious way WAS found! Sadly all the chicken recipes were too complex. I think I shall just bake these thighs with my own herb choices :)

8. Rosemary, parsley, and oregano. I think I shall use these to season my chicken. They are simple and very yummy :)

9. Baked potato. Although I would think red mashed potatoes would go really well with my choices, I feel like having baked and so does Wayne, so baked it is! That also makes my cooking job much easier :) Just wash, poke, and throw them in the oven with the chicken. Yum!

And it begins! Oven is preheating at 350 degrees and I will begin by washing the potatoes and then preparing the chicken :) But first I must remove my rings and wash my hands after the potatoes are nice and clean. ...Wow! These are huge potatoes!
...
Ok, the potatoes were washed and put in foil, but I forgot to poke them with a fork a little, oh well! That's more important in a microwave, and since there is time for them to cook for an hour it doesn't really matter if they take a little longer than with holes. I also put the chicken thighs in a glass pan, added a bunch of olive oil, and seasoned them with a little poke and rub for each to get them all tasty. Now they should turn out juicy and delicious! Now a break for some Rasp. Jam and Homemade Bread! ...I'm pregnant, I'm allowed to always be hungry and eat at a moments notice!
...
I gave some of that wonderful goodness I just ate and drank (OJ) to my sweetie too :)
...
Anyway, sorry for the mushy stuff ;) Next to get the asparagus ready. I am going to peel it and cook it as bundles in boiling water. That is how the french do according to Julia anyway :) It should take about 15 minutes to boil and then I'll make the sauce while that is finishing up :) I can't wait for all of this yummy food! I have about 30 minutes till the oven stuff will be done so I think I shall start peeling.
...
OK, peeling asparagus is a really bad idea! I hated it! The french must have thicker asparagus because mine kept snapping and if I truly peeled it there would only be a tiny thin thing left...never will do that (unless I can get thinker stuff) again! At least it is boiling now. The chicken should be done about the same time! Yippy! Now just for the sauce and I am done!
...
IT TURNED OUT SUPER YUMMY! It looked really nice too :) well, except for the asparagus ;) I decided that peeling is not necessary because it just makes it look funny, it cooks too fast, and it just wastes time. Maybe if it were thicker it would be really nice, but I'll stick to just plain boiling or steaming without the rest from now on. And honestly, except for the peeling the asparagus and making the sauce, it all wasn't much of an adventure. But is sure tasted good :)
P.S. I really like the Hollandaise sauce! I probably should have taken a picture of how it turned out, but I was too hungry to eat it so I didn't really care to find my camera, haha!

Have a good night and thanks for coming on my adventure!

Sunday, April 11, 2010

Sabbath Love

Today has been wonderful so far :) I can't wait to enjoy the rest of it!

First thing I did was sleep in, find my kitchen cleaned (Thank you Sarah!), and got everything ready for church. Then I taught Sunbeams which is fun because they don't judge you, lol. They really enjoyed the suckers and coloring pages of Adam and Eve too! Then Sacrament was full of wonderfulness :) A cute young boy gave a talk about media showing his pocket knife and Ipod. Then a High Council member who had touched a soon to be missionary's life gave an AMAZING talk. He brought up a saying I used to live by and I am so happy to be reminded of it. "Attitude is Everything". I love that because it is so true! If you decide to have a good attitude good things happen and people are happier. I decided I am going to post that saying somewhere in my home for all to see because I think it will be very helpful. It doesn't matter what other people are doing, or how bad you feel, if you have a good attitude you will be happy.

He told the story of a man who lived by this and could only be described as amazing. He blessed so many lives just by being around them. Everybody loved him. One day the restaurant he was working in was robbed and he ended up getting shot. The paramedics were great and quick to respond and told him how everything would be alright. Then he arrived in the ER and the look on the doctors' faces told him he was a dead man. But as he was laying there he thought to himself, "I can live or die. I choose to live". When he was asked if he was allergic to anything he said, "yeah". All the doctors stopped waiting to hear his response and he said, "bullets". The doctors all started laughing and he told them that he chooses to live so they should operate on him as a living person. See! Even in the face of death you can tell what kind of man this was! ATTITUDE IS EVERYTHING!

After this talk the sisters of the Elder who would be leaving for his mission this week sang a beautiful song. And then when their brother went to speak you could tell how grateful he was for his sisters and how through their music they could share the spirit and their testimonies. Then as he continued to speak I was quite surprised at what I heard. He told of an experience at EFY three years ago when he saw a picture of a leopard reaching to Christ as he past and Christ reaching back. This picture had a strong impact on this young man and right there he prayed. He ask if the Lord would be with him and through the feelings of clam and peace the Lord answered saying, "I have always been with you. I will always be with you. Thank you for calling on me so that I can help you." Wow. It is so true, but we have to be willing to reach to Him. ...I am totally sending all my kids to EFY! Then he told about his experience at Boot Camp last year and how he got hurt and that is why he is not a Marine yet. Then he explained that when he was lying in bed in pain how he remembered his EFY experience and how he knows the Lord is there, so again he turned to prayer and asked the Lord to help him and heal him. The Lord answered saying that it was not the time and he had other things to do. Then he thought of the atonement and how Christ knew his pain. He knew Christ loved him and would do anything for him. He was comforted even though he did not get the answer he wanted but because of that experience is why he is going on a mission today. He says someday he will be a Marine but for the next two years he will be a missionary sharing that spirit and testimony with all he can. He just wants everybody to have a chance to feel that spirit.

After church I talked to my Bishop, Jean-Michelle Arrigona, about my sister and how she has expressed that she does not want to go to church any more. You can tell how caring and sincere my bishop is any time you talk to or see him, but he didn't just give me advice, he told me the truth. He said, "I wish I could just have a real talk with her, no fluff, just to find out what she likes and hates. I would be ok if her boyfriend wanted to talk to. Our church needs to share the scary truth more. What she is going through is not unique, people just usually avoid talking about their experiences when they fall away or lack in faith. I wish I could have a REAL talk with her".  I told him that I bet she would be willing to talk with him, and that fluff is a lot of the reason she doesn't like our church. So now I am going to pass his invitation on to her and I really really hope she is willing to talk with him because I think talking to someone not in our family will be much more helpful to her finding the right path out of her own will. I love my bishop!

Then I sang in choir, which was so nice because I have missed singing and being in a choir so much! And then I came home and ate the leftover pizza from my craving last night. (Can you believe I craved pepperoni pizza!? I usually really dislike that stuff!) And now I am here and so happy to be sharing these experiences :) Let's hope the rest of the day is just as amazing! I plan on playing piano, singing, reading church materials, and going to dinner at the Elder Quorum President's house :) Have a wonderful day!


:D

My very own place to speak

Well, I decided to make my very own blog. I figured that since people sometimes get annoyed with my posting on facebook and individual things on my family blog (at least I imagine they do) that I will start this blog for me to say whatever I want. Only people who come here will read what I have to say so I can avoid those who just happen to browse over something I wrote and be offended.

I don't really care if people know what is going on in my life. But I will forewarn you that this may sound like more of a ranting place than a happy place at times. This is because writing helps me relieve my stress. I write in my journal for personal stuff but I would rather type and just get it out when I'm upset so the journal doesn't always cut it. Plus I want my regular journal to be something for passing on...not something full of tons of dumb details. And my family site will often be where I will post the exciting stuff...so unless I am so excited that I want to post things twice I will probably only post on here when I need to get something off my chest. But you are welcome to read if you are interested.

I may also use this for when I am bored. I could play around with my layout/background, post interesting finds, ideas, or thoughts, and I can just have fun without restrictions. So there we go. You know what to expect so you decide how the rest goes. I get to speak my mind and you can comment to agree or add, but I'd prefer to not have anyone contradicting me here unless they want a convo that "fights for my rights" so to say. ...Now I sound like an ugly person, totally not meaning it in that way.

I just want to speak (or type rather) so that's what I and this are here for! :)